White on White

April 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve always found the colour white to be the most amazing. Though people keep telling me it’s not actually a colour.

Regardless though, the cool thing about the colour white is that it reflects the colours around it. I have to wonder if Rei Kawakubo had this in mind when she created her “White” collection, which also reflected the passage of human life, celebrating the milestones of birth, marriage and death amongst others.

The collection was recently exhibited at the Cite de la Mode, all encased in inflatable bubbles, and demonstrates the progressive nature of some of Rei Kawakubos work. While I have to admit there have been some questionable moments through her career, this collection is a nice reminder that she still has a few tricks up her sleeve.

Here are some photos of a the exhibition as well as some amazing shots from the new I-D magazine of the come collection.

I do love i-D, they still manage to excite me when I see a new one.

;

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading White on White at untheprefix.

meta

